Alaska to Cast Electoral College Votes

Alaska to Cast Electoral College Votes for President and Vice President

December 14, 2012, Anchorage, AK – Alaska’s three electors will cast their votes for president and vice-president of the United States Monday.

Lieutenant Governor Mead Treadwell will preside at the meeting of the electors in Juneau.

Each state receives a number of electors equal to its United States Congressional representation. The electors represent the political party of the presidential candidate who won the popular vote in that state. The winning political party, which in Alaska’s 2012 General Election is the Alaska Republican Party, selects its electors and submits the names to the Division of Elections. Alaska’s electors this year are Kristie Babcock of Kenai, Kathleen Miller of Fairbanks, and Chris L. Nelson of Anchorage.

Under state law, each elector must “pledge” to cast his or her electoral vote for the candidate of the winning party. Alaska’s electors this year pledged to vote for Mitt Romney for president and Paul Ryan for vice president of the United States.

The electoral vote will be cast at 11:00 a.m. Monday at the Juneau Arts & Culture Center at 350 Whittier Street. Doors open at 10:30. Media and the public are welcome to attend. The Division of Elections has invited current and newly elected legislators, as well as Juneau’s mayor and assembly members. Several students from Juneau schools and the University of Alaska Southeast will be special guests to observe the voting. The program will include performances by Alaskapella A Capella (UAS Student Choir Club) and a Presentation of Colors by members of the Alaska Coast Guard.

# # #